Ulster Rugby v Benetton Rugby


DANKSE BANK ULSTER U18 SCHOOLS SQUAD Angus Adair RBAI Robbie Armstrong Methodist College Thomas Armstrong Methodist College David Browne Limavady Keelin Coyle Foyle & Londonderry College

Nathan Doak got the Ulster team off the mark in the early stages with a penalty, before trading further successive goal kicks with Munster’s Cian Whooley to put Ulster 6-3 ahead. The Ulster team had a lot of possession throughout the remainder of the half but the Munster defence was solid. Ulster did, however, extend their lead to 9-3 when Doak converted another penalty just before the interval. Early Munster pressure after the restart was rewarded when Whooley kicked two successful penalties to draw the teams level at 9-9. Midway through the half a clever kick from Robbie Armstrong saw Ulster take play just outside the Munster 22m area. From the Munster throw Ulster regained possession and finished some great hard yards work with a try from Kevin McNaboe, with Doak’s conversion making it 16-9. Back came Munster and seven minutes from the end Whooley was successful with his fourth penalty of the game to reduce the Munster deficit to 16-12. The Ulster team then went on the attack and denied Munster any real territory or possession in the final few minutes of the game to close out a 16-12 win. ROUND 4 LEINSTER 17-18 ULSTER The Danske Bank Ulster Schools’ team secured the Inter-Provincial title, thanks to a thrilling 18-17 win over Leinster in Donnybrook on Saturday 23rd September. Nathan Doak opened the scoring for the Ulster team with a well struck penalty in the fifth minute to give his team a 3-0 lead. This became 8-0 eleven minutes later, when Ryan O'Neill crashed over for an unconverted try following a series of multiple phase plays. The Leinster team replied midway through the half when, following a rare appearance into the Ulster half, Mike O'Gara converted a penalty opportunity which reduced the deficit to 8-3. The last few minutes of the first period of play saw the Ulster team extend their lead to 15-3 when an Aaron Sexton run took play deep into Leinster territory. The resultant ruck produced the quality possession which enabled James Nelson to finish with a try, which Doak converted. With the final play of the half the Leinster team reduced the arrears to 15-10 when Ross McInnes scored a try which was converted by O'Gara. Six minutes into the second half more Ulster pressure saw the Leinster team concede a penalty which Doak converted to extend the Ulster lead to 18-10. Back came the Leinster team and, six minutes from the end, Sam Dardis scored a try, which O'Gara converted to leave the minimum between the teams, however a vital turnover by the Ulster forwards and some impressive game management in the closing stages secured the win, and with it, the series title.

Ben Crangle Methodist College Bryn Davies Rainey Endowed Nathan Doak Wallace HS Oscar Egan Coleraine GS Lewis Finlay Down HS Nic Jennings RS Armagh


Robbie Johnston Regent House Chris Larmour Methodist College Tom Lavery RBAI Joshua McAuley Ballymena Academy David McCann RBAI Ben McCaughey Friends' School Lisburn

Jake McCay Omagh Academy Ben McCrossan Bangor GS Ethan McIlroy Methodist College Robin McIlveen RBAI

John McKee Campbell College Glenn McKinley Omagh Academy Kevin McNaboe Methodist College Peter McRoberts Wallace HS Bradley Mulholland Friends' School Lisburn James Nelson Ballyclare HS Ryan O'Neill RS Armagh Harry Owens Campbell College Ben Power Campbell College George Pringle Friends' School Lisburn Conor Rankin Wallace HS George Saunderson Sullivan Upper Aaron Sexton Bangor GS Robbie Sproule Omagh Academy Tom Stewart Belfast Royal Academy Jack Stinson Campbell College Charlie Worth RS Armagh MANAGEMENT TEAM Head Coach: Kieran Campbell Assistant Head Coach: Bryan Young Assistant Coach: John Creighton Strength and Conditioning Coach: Matthew Maguire Physiotherapist: Richard Johnston Resources Manager: Adrian Walker Doctor: Ryan Hamilton Video Analyst: Mark Chernek Manager: Richard Clingan



Made with FlippingBook - Online magazine maker